Chocolatey Buttery Oatmeal

Chocolate for breakfast 🙂 🙂 🙂 That’s how hubby dear smiled!  It was a breakfast treat – indulgent, yet healthy. A pleasant change from the routine. It is really simple and easy.

Serves 2

1 cup Oats (I used Bob’s extra thick rolled oats) * can use steel cut/ pinhead oats. Cook as per manufacturer’s instructions before adding cocoa.

1 cup Milk * can be substituted with rice/almond/soy milk

1 cup Water

1 tablespoon unsweetened Cocoa powder

1 tablespoon nut butter * can use Almond/ peanut/cashewnut/ hazelnut butter * I used Almond butter

3 tablespoons Honey/ Agave nectar/ Sugar * I used organic honey

Pinch of Cinnamon

Pinch of Salt

Chocolate chips and toasted almonds for garnish (optional)

Method

  • Heat water and milk in  a pan and bring to a boil. let it simmer.
  • Reduce heat and add oats. Simmer over low heat. Add salt.
  • Cook oats until thick. Stir in cocoa, honey and nut butter.
  • Stir till the oats is cooked thoroughly and you get the desired consistency. If it’s too thick add water, if watery cook for another couple of minutes.
  • Cover and sit the pan for a while.
  • Sprinkle cinnamon. Stir oatmeal before serving. Garnish with chocolate chips and almonds. Have a chocolately buttery breakfast 🙂

The almond butter and milk gave a rich and creamy consistency. Adjust sweetness as you prefer, by adding more/ less honey. I put a few tablespoons of leftover inside the refrigerator. I scooped out, and had it after lunch like a cold dessert. It was yummy. Chocolate tastes good either way – Hot or Cold.

12 responses to “Chocolatey Buttery Oatmeal”

  1. Looks yummy and an interesting way to start the day. Thx for linking to the event. Could you also add a link to the event announcement? Thx.

    Vardhini
    Event: Sweet Luv
    Event: Strawberries

    1. Thanks Vardhini 🙂 I will add the event announcement as well.

  2. Wow! I’d like this to greet me for breakfast 🙂 Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    1. Thanks Alisa….I’m excited about this recipe being featured in Foodista. I’m flattered 🙂

    1. Thanks Vimitha….I’ll link it to your event 🙂

  3. this is sooo good 🙂 thanks for linking.. would appreciate if you can also plug in the event logo on your post – helps spread the word 🙂

    Wonderful to meet a new friend and a co-blogger thru this event ! Keep them coming 🙂

    Kalyani
    Sizzling Tastebuds
    Event : Valentine Fest – Served with Love
    Event : Cook with Spices – Coriander

    1. Thanks Kalyani 🙂 Glad to know that you liked the recipe. Pleasure is all mine to meet a new friend as well.

  4. Wonderful one! good one for my kid! thanks for linking to me event

    1. Thanks again…glad that you liked it!

  5. Dear Cheryl, I prepared this for breakfast today. It was so wonderful and gave a sweet kick start to my monday. Will be a repeat, esp now that I have stocked on organic oats.

    1. Glad to know you like it…I love this one.

I truly appreciate your feedback. Drop me a word.