Pizza Muffins

Pizza Muffins

I’ve been trying to post this recipe in the notes of Kitchen Kemistry’s Facebook page, but was unsuccessful. I tried doing it in Google chrome and IE. Both didn’t work. Finally, I gave up and decided to post it here. I make these muffins often and have packed for friends. It’s a hit and a treat by itself. This also makes a great party food. Try these when you’re in a mood for pizza but do not want a full on one.

This a short post with no stories. Let’s get to the recipe.

Adapted from here. I tweaked the ingredients to suit our taste and needs.

Yields 12 standard muffins.

Dry Ingredients

  • 2 cups organic whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup organic raw sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp dried basil or Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup organic cheddar cheese, cubed. I used organic valley sharp cheddar with microbial rennet suitable for vegetarians
  • Parsley leaves for garnish *optional
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes *optional

Wet Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup organic plain yogurt
  • 2 organic cage free eggs * For egg free version, you might want to try with pureed tofu or flax goop. But I haven’t tried either.
  • 1/4 cup organic EVOO or any oil of choice
  • 1/2 cup organic green/red pepper, finely chopped. I used red pepper
  • 1/4 cup organic pizza/ pasta sauce. I used organic marinara sauce
  • 1/2 cup organic low fat mozzarella cheese, grated

Method

1. Preheat oven to 400º F. Line a muffin pan with foil liners. Else simply grease the muffin pan and use as it is.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients until combined. Stir in cheddar cubes.

3. In a medium bowl, whisk together yogurt, eggs and oil until smooth.

4. Stir wet mixture into flour mixture just until well combined and with no dry spots. DO NOT OVER MIX. Stir in chopped pepper. Batter will be doughy. That’s how it’s supposed to be.

5. Spoon batter into muffin cups using an ice cream scoop. I fill scant 2/3 of the liners as I like domed muffins, not flat ones. Do not over fill, else the cheese melts and runs over the sides of the liners. When cooled the cheese sticks to the sides and bottom, and rips the liners while removing from the pan.

6. Spoon 1 tsp pizza/pasta sauce on top of each muffin. Sprinkle each with shredded mozzarella. Garnish with parsley leaves and chilli flakes.

7. Bake about 20 minutes, until golden and a toothpick inserted in center of one of middle muffins comes out clean. Then it’s done. Do not over bake as the cheese on top becomes hard and chewy.

8. Let muffins cool in the pan for at least 5 minutes before removing. Then cool completely on a wire rack. Serve warm.

9. Storage – You can freeze muffins after wrapping individually with cling film. Place in an airtight container for up to 1 month in the freezer. Defrost at room temperature or thaw overnight in the refrigerator. Zap in the microwave (peel the foil liners) for 15 seconds and serve warm.

25 responses to “Pizza Muffins”

  1. yummy..I could gobble down these goodies in a jiffy..:)

  2. Looking so tempting..gonna try soon 🙂

  3. They look amazing, Cheryl!!!

  4. Cheryl i havent seen wholewheat pastry flour in my regular shopping store. Can i use wholemeal flour which i use to make bread. How different is pastry flour? (I am in UK).

    would love to try this.

    1. WW Pastry flour and WM flour are not the same. I’m not sure of the English equivalent. You can go with regular APF or 50/50. That should work.

  5. Super receipe just loved it

  6. hiii thankx for sharing the recipe….i have a ques. abt the whole wheat pastry flour. In India can we replace it with aata or maida? do we also need to add baking powder ? Is the pastry flour like a self raising flour?

  7. WOW!!! they looks so yummy, delicious and very nice. I loved it completely.

    Thanks!!

  8. Can these muffins be baked in the microwave. . If yes convection mode or microwave mode & wat temp.. can we use maida or aata to make the dough??

    1. The temperature is stated in the recipe. I haven’t got a clue about microwave or convection. I use the oven attached with the cooking range. Substituting ingredients will not give the expected outcome. I haven’t tried with atta, so I can’t comment on that.

  9. After filling the doughy mixture in the muffin pan do we need to bake it or jus put the pizza sauce on the doughy mixture & den bake it??

    1. Read the recipe. It’s explained in the method.

  10. HI Cheryl, baking this for a gluten-sensitive family. Can I use the Bob’s Red Mill AP GF flour instead? Do you think given your experience it will come out the same?

    1. Hi Yuvika,

      I prefer KAF GF flour over Bob’s as the latter has more garbanzo flour which gives a slightly dense output. GF option would work well for this recipe. Good luck,

  11. Fantastic recipe, came out very well.

  12. I cant believe how good these came out – I ended up using KAF as you suggested and if I may say so myself – these were perfect – the guests wow’ed at every bite and the kids were thrilled to get a gluten free yummy treat – then packed some for home too! You should start charging for your recipes 😉

    1. Awww…thank you 🙂 I’m delighted to know that the muffins were appreciated by your guests. This is one of my personal favorites. Lol! You’re giving me ideas. I’m happy to share recipes that make tummies happy. Thanks again for stopping by.

  13. Cheryl can I use normal egg? what she be the quantity?

    1. Yes you can use normal eggs. Same numbers as stated in the recipe.

  14. Hey cheryl can these be made ahead of time before serving??what shelf life does these have

    1. Yes! I’d refrigerate the muffins if not served right away. Reheat and serve as needed. Will stay refrigerated for 2-3 days.

  15. Poornima Saminathan Avatar
    Poornima Saminathan

    Can we use whole wheat flour that we use to do chapathi?

    1. Use 50% atta 50% Maida. You’ll get a better output. Else the muffins may be dense.

  16. Hi Cheryl,

    Made these for a party at home and what a big hit these were!! Thankfully, I had tripled the quantity so everyone could have seconds and thirds too 😉
    Couldn’t believe how simple these are to make and how easily all the veggies get “hidden”.

    Thanks a ton for the recipe!!

    Cheers,
    Priya

I truly appreciate your feedback. Drop me a word.