Almond Butter Cookies

Chock full of almonds and almond butter in a bite is what I wanted in a cookie.  These Almond Butter Cookies are made in a jiffy for tea. As I was clearing the refrigerator, I found half a bottle of almond butter that will head towards the bin next month. As usual, I was browsing through my bake books for a recipe that I can use up the almond butter. Finally, I found Dorie Greenspan’s Peanut butter crisscrosses. This recipe came to form by tweaking the original one. And I sprinkled colored sugar. Cute! ain’t it? When PR returned home, I offered these for tea and he gave me that ‘Are you kidding?’ look. Well, I know colored sugar is mostly for kids but WTH? I like cookies with colored or regular sugar. The taste is what matters and this one is a winner! The day I baked these almondies was a RAINY day in San Jose. We hardly had sun light for an hour or so. This is the best picture I could shoot with my mobile instagram.

almond cookies

Makes 24 cookies (3 inch each)

1 ¼ cup All purpose flour

½ cup Almond butter, crunchy or smooth * I used smooth.

½ cup Unsalted butter

½ cup Brown sugar

6 tbsp Granulated sugar

1 Egg

¾ cup Almonds, chopped *Roasted and unpeeled/peeled

¼ tsp Baking soda

¼  tsp Salt

A pinch of Nutmeg or Cinnamon *Optional

¼ cup Colored or regular sugar, for rolling

Method

  • Pre heat oven to 350° F. Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl and keep aside.
  • Beat butter with the paddle attachment of the stand mixer for 2 mins or until creamy and smooth.
  • Add almond butter and beat for 2 mins. Stir in the sugar and continue beating for 3 mins.
  • Add the egg, beat for another min. Now add the dry ingredients slowly only until they are combined.
  • Mix in the chopped almonds. Now you’ll have a soft, pliable dough.
  • Put the colored sugar into a small bowl.
  • Roll the cookie dough between your palms into small balls. Drop the dough balls into the sugar to coat them.
  • Place them on the baking sheet, leaving 2 inches between them.  Now gently press the coated dough ball with the back of a teaspoon to flatten the dough.
  • Bake for 15 mins rotating the sheet 180 degree angle midway point. When done the cookies will be lightly colored and bit soft. It becomes crunchy upon cooling.
  • Sit the cookies on the sheet for a couple of mins before transferring to a cooling rack. Cool to room temperature.
  • Wrapped well, store them in a cookie jar for up to 3 days.

4 responses to “Almond Butter Cookies”

  1. Thx for the lovely recipe. wanted to check with you, since Almond butter is not very accesible here in bangalore and I did manage to get cashew butter, what are the changes I need to make in the above recipe to make Cashew butter cookies? thx.

    1. Yes Rajni…you may replace cashewnuts for almonds and follow the instructions. All the best!

  2. Sanding sugar is why I would like to be a kid. The obsession is unhealthy… As for the almond butter, I can probably find it but is it possible to pulse blanched almonds with perhaps a spoon of oil until it forms a smooth paste?
    Thank you for your work.

    1. Thanks for stopping by my space.

      Yes you can pulse almonds with little oil till it turns butter-like smooth paste. That should work.

I truly appreciate your feedback. Drop me a word.