Breakfast Smoothies

This is a series of smoothies I whip up almost every morning for our breakfast. It happens to be vegan. I don’t prefer adding yogurt or dairy milk to my smoothies as it tends to mask the flavors. As well, I don’t like too many ingredients with clashing flavors. Less is more! I keep it simple by using vegetables or fruits of same color tone. I will update this series as I gather more smoothie recipes. The pics are shot on my mobile just before I consume. Practically it’s not possible to set up a shoot when you’re ready for breakfast. Kindly excuse the quality of the pictures

PINK SMOOTHIE

Pink smoothie

Ingredients

  • 5 Strawberries, hulled and chopped
  • 1 Apple, peeled (optional) and chopped
  • 1 Banana, skinned and chopped
  • 1 cup Coconut water or plain water
  • 1 tbsp Flax meal

Method – Blend all ingredients in a blender till smooth. Serve in a glass. Garnish as preferred. Enjoy!Strawberries have a wallop of Vit C, Apples are full of fiber (pectin), Bananas are potassium packed and heart healthy, Coconut water replenishes electrolyte deficit and Flax meal is high in omega 3 fatty acids (the good fat).

PURPLE SMOOTHIE

Purple smoothie
Ingredients
  • 1 handful organic blueberries
  • 1 organic apple, peeled (optional) and chopped
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1 tsp coconut sugar (optional)
  • Mint leaves to garnish
Method – Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Serve in a glass. Garnish with mint leaves. Enjoy as I did this morning! This smoothie is a rich source of vitamins and minerals.

GOLDEN SMOOTHIE

Golden Smoothie
Ingredients
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 3 mandarin oranges, wedges only
  • 1 orange/yellow bell pepper
  • 1 cup nut milk *I used a blend of hazelnut, cashewnut and almond
  • Pinch of freshly ground black pepper
  • Pinch of salt to taste
Method – Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Serve in a glass. Garnish with mint leaves. Enjoy!
Orange colored vegetables and fruits are loaded with Beta carotene, a precursor of Vitamin A that is important for vision. It helps with cognitive aging. I need it so much 😛
BLACK SMOOTHIE
Black berry smoothie
The reason for naming this one black smoothie is because the name of the fruits used starts with ‘black’. Hence, the name. I know the color isn’t black. In fact, it’s purple. The anthocyanin is what gives that bluish purple hue to certain fruits. I used frozen fruits for this smoothie. These were washed and frozen when in season.
Ingredients
  • Handful of Black berries
  • 2 Black velvet apricots, stone removed
  • Handful of Black cherries
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • Mint leaves to garnish
Method
Blend all the fruits in a blender and serve in a tall glass. I didn’t add extra sugar as these fruits are sweet by itself.

8 responses to “Breakfast Smoothies”

  1. Yummy, Cheryl! I love fruits and a smoothie is certainly a good way to start the day eating colors… xx

    1. Thanks Denise 🙂 I love fruits. My friends call me a rabbit. I can survive on fruits and leaves. lol.

  2. Delicious! I love smoothies for breakfast too..

    1. Same here Renuka. Trying my best to avoid caffeine to start the day.

  3. That looks appetising Cheryl.. Been reading a lot about the benefits of smoothies.. Am trying one tomo. How do you make nut milk? Will an Oster Blender or Ice Crusher jar do the trick?

    1. Whole fruits are always better than blended ones. But it’s bulky and too much to eat for breakfast. One can sneak in almost 5 ingredients in a glass of smoothie. I follow the instructions here to make nut milk (http://www.thekitchn.com/diy-nutmilks-5-easy-and-nourishing-recipes-176008). Do not throw the pulp. It can be used for making muffins. Dry or dehydrate it, powder it and use in place of flour in your bakes.
      Yes, Oster blender is fine. I use the juicer jar in the butterfly mixie. I also have an Oster as a back up. Glass or plastic jar is better as they do not conduct heat from the motor that kill nutrients in the fruits. Hope this helps.

    2. Oh thats great. Thanks for sharing the link. Will try it out and let you know.. My Oster Juicer jar is a plastic one. Thanks for all the info!

    3. You’re welcome 🙂

I truly appreciate your feedback. Drop me a word.