Emergency Egg-free Chocolate Brownies (less than 5 minutes)

Microwave Eggfree Gooey Brownie for those moments of  ‘I WANT IT NOW’ chocolate craving….with a drizzle of Chocolate Syrup. If you have a husband like mine who is a chocolate addict, then this is a quick fix that can be prepared in about 5 minutes. I’ve never baked anything in a microwave. I use microwave oven for reheating food and making tea. But this ‘Chocolate’ delight came out cooked/baked well like the regular brownies.

Adapted from Art of Dessert

Serves 2 ( I got just a bite of the brownie, it’s good enough for brownie lovers)

Ingredients

2 tablespoons All purpose flour

2 tablespoons unsweetened Cocoa powder

2 tablespoons Milk or Water

2 tablespoons bittersweet  Chocolate chips * I used Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet

2-3 tablespoons Sugar

4 teaspoons unsalted Butter (melted)

1/4 teaspoon Vanilla extract

a pinch of Salt

Chocolate syrup to drizzle * I used Hersheys chocolate syrup cos that’s what I had at home.

Method

  • In a small microwaveable bowl or ramekin, mix together the melted butter, milk/ water and vanilla extract.
  • Add the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, chocolate chips and salt. Mix till combined.
  • Microwave on HIGH for 1 1/2  minutes. Cool for 1 to 2 minutes.
  • Serve immediately. Drizzle with chocolate syrup.

You may top the brownies with chocolate ganache . This will taste heavenly with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I don’t keep ice cream in my freezer as I can finish a tub in one go. So I drizzled with chocolate syrup. There it was, the ‘Food of Gods’ right out of the microwave. Yummy! It was Chocolate Heaven!!

* I reduced the amount of sugar as the chocolate syrup used was quite sweet. The sweetness of the syrup and the unsweetened cocoa powder plus bittersweet chocolate chips balanced out.

36 responses to “Emergency Egg-free Chocolate Brownies (less than 5 minutes)”

  1. Very nice blog. Welcome to FoodBuzz too!

    1. Thanks Richard. Yours is a good one too. Im going to try the shrimp and grits casserole…hubby loves it. I should learn some health tips from you 🙂 Thanks again!

  2. I tried it immediately after reading and it turned out delicious Cheryl!

    1. Thanks for trying. This is my emergency chocolate fix. It’s heavenly with a dollop of vanilla ice cream 🙂

  3. can i use maida instead of all purpose flour?r both the same?

    1. All purpose flour is a mix of endosperm from the hard wheat and soft wheat. Maida is the closest approximation available in India. Maida can be conveniently used in place of AP flour.

  4. Hi cheryl, Can we store these brownies or better suited for immediate consumption?

    1. It’s for immediate consumption. More like an instant dessert. Mine never lasts more than 10 mins. Never stored it 🙂

  5. Cheryl, tried this with my son lending a helping a hand, was deliciously chocolatey!!! just loved it!!

    1. Aww…thanks so much Divya 🙂 Glad your lil one loved it too.

  6. Finally tried this and was an instant hit. My kids had it with Cookies n crime ice cream and loved it. Thx a ton Cheryl! Waiting for more such quick fixes. It’s a boon, with kids around.

    1. Thanks so much Rajni 🙂 Surely will post more recipes like this. Kids seem to enjoy putting together a simple recipe and feel accomplished. I shall do this to bring that smile on the their faces.

  7. Hi Cheryl,
    Wondering what changes need to be made to the recipe if I want to use it for the oven.
    Also if I make it in the microwave can I store it for later too or is it best consumed pronto ?
    Shivangi

    1. I’m afraid this recipe is not suitable for regular brownies. It’s an ad hoc brownie recipe meant for immediate use.

  8. Hey Cheryl…wonder if i can double the quantities and make the same recipe…how much time would i need to microwave?

    1. Yes you can double the quantity. 2 mins on high should be fine. My microwave is with 900 watts power.

  9. Thank you so much for the recipe…Very easy and quick and was yummmy:).. Loved it..Thank you!!

    1. Thanks for the feedback Jamna. I’m glad you liked it 🙂

  10. Hi! Looks awesome 😀
    Can the chocolate chips be left out?

    1. Cheryl, if you have no choco chips then replace it with roughly chopped chocolate. Omitting the chips or chopped chocolate will give a very dry brownie. The moisture balance will be off and the result will not be satisfactory.

  11. Awesome.. I soo want to try this when I should not be having another bite of chocolate..:)

  12. Cheryl, correction reqd in your post, this serve one and not two! So yummy that my son and me were fighting over it >:) Awesome recipe!

    1. Thanks Rashmi 🙂

  13. Hi I’m wanting to make these for a dinner for about 30ppl.. Can I make them in the afternoon and heat them up again for a few seconds before serving at night? Will they taste the same??

    1. Hi Anna,
      Yes you can make the brownies in the noon and serve at night. I have done that but didn’t care to reheat. So I’m not sure about that part. Let me suggest that you make a trial batch (a couple of brownies) and check for yourself. It’s a personal preference, as I like hot brownies when served with ice cream. If not room temperature ones are good enough for me.
      Cheers,
      Cheryl.

  14. Hi Cheryl,

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. Just made it and my family loved it. Will post pics Tom.

    Regards
    Sangeeta

    1. Thanks Sangeeta. Glad to know that your family loved it,

  15. A very naive question: If I add baking powder to this recipe and make it like a regular brownie, will it become a brownie? And if that is a possibility how much should I add?

    1. I haven’t tried doing that Vidya. So I can’t advise on that. Sorry!

    1. Thanks Sangeeta 🙂

  16. Can I use Hershey’s milk chocolate chips ??if yes how much should I add

    1. You can use any brand chocolate chips. Measurement remains the same as mentioned in the recipe.

  17. Hi Cheryl, I am no cook or bake person, I enjoy browsing through websites and blogs, but honestly have been quite inspired to try my hand to begin with some easy stuffs. Your passion for food creation and knowledge is amazing.
    I have a question: when you say bake on microwave at high does it means just microwave or bake in convection mode? I have a convection microwave for baking, wanna know how good is the outcome in that compared to OTG or other variants.
    Look forward to following ur blog and new creations!!

    1. Thanks.

      Bake in a regular microwave oven at 100% power. I haven’t used convec-mw combo oven. I’m afraid I can’t help solve this query. I use a range that has convection as an option. My MW is different gadget which does microwave cooking, no baking!

I truly appreciate your feedback. Drop me a word.